KENT COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

Wednesday, January 2, 2002 - Organizational Meeting -Administration Building – Room 310

Meeting called to order at 8:00 a.m. by County Clerk Mary Hollinrake.

Present: Commissioners Boelema, Buege, Heacock, Hiddema, Horton, Koorndyk, Kuhn, Kuipers, Mast, Mayhue, McGuire, Morgan, Morren, Postmus, Sak, Vaughn, Vonk, Wahlfield - 18.

Absent: Smoke (Excused) - 1.

Invocation: Commissioner Kuhn gave the invocation. The Pledge of Allegiance followed.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Clerk Hollinrake opened nominations for Chair of the Board of Commissioners. Commissioner Morren nominated Steven R. Heacock. Motion was supported by Commissioner Hiddema.

There were no other nominations and the nominations were closed.

Motion carried by voice vote.

Steven R. Heacock was declared elected Chair of the Board of Commissioners.

Chair Heacock opened nominations for Vice Chair. Commissioner Postmus nominated David J. Morren. Motion was supported by Commissioner Wahlfield. There were no other nominations and the nominations were closed. Motion carried by voice vote. David J. Morren was declared elected Vice Chair of the Board of Commissioners.

PUBLIC COMMENT

There was no public comment.

CONSENT AGENDA

- a) Approval of the Minutes of December 13, 2001 Meeting
- b) December 18, 2001 Finance Committee Meeting Minutes (Reports of Claims and Allowances)

c) Resolutions:

1-02-02-01 – AMEND 2001 PARKS BUDGET / PARKS DEPARTMENT

WHEREAS, earlier this year the Parks Department experienced a retaining wall failure at the Dwight Lydell Park. The repair cost was estimated at approximately \$30,000. Staff from the Parks Department and Administration agreed that repairs need to be made and that if there were budgetary concerns later in the year additional resources would be requested from the Board of Commissioners; and

WHEREAS, the Parks Department has been evaluating existing structures and making repairs as necessary for many of the buildings within the system including roof and window replacements and general maintenance. More structures required repairs currently than originally budgeted. Staff agree that an additional \$15,000 is needed for the 2001 budget year.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners appropriate an additional \$45,000 from the Unreserved, Undesignated General Fund Balance to the Park Fund for the 2001 Budget year.

Motion by Commissioner Kuhn, supported by Commissioner Koorndyk, that the consent agenda items be adopted.

Motion carried:

Yeas: Boelema, Buege, Hiddema, Horton, Koorndyk, Kuhn, Kuipers, Mast, Mayhue, McGuire, Morgan, Morren, Postmus, Sak, Vaughn, Vonk, Wahlfield, Chair Heacock – 18. Nays: 0.

APPOINTMENTS

2002 STANDING COMMITTEES

Finance & Physical Resources Committee David Morren, Chair Roger Morgan, Vice Chair Jack Boelema Katherine Kuhn Paul McGuire Tom Postmus Richard Smoke James Vaughn Fritz Wahlfield Legislative & Human Resources Committee Elaine Buege, Chair Daniel Koorndyk, Vice Chair Marvin Hiddema Jack Horton Kenneth Kuipers Harold Mast Paul Mayhue Michael Sak Ted Vonk

2002 COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS BY THE CHAIR

A.C.S.E.T. Katherine Kuhn James Vaughn Steve Heacock (by virtue of office)

Arts Council of Greater Grand Rapids Katherine Kuhn County/Township Liaison Elaine Buege

Grand Rapids – Kent County Convention/Arena Authority Liaison Committee Daniel Koorndyk Roger Morgan Tom Postmus

Grand Valley Metropolitan Council Transportation Division Policy Committee Kenneth Kuipers

Greater Grand Rapids Convention Bureau David Morren

Housing Commission Daryl Domke

Human Services Committee

OPEN, KCFCCC Chair (by virtue of office) OPEN, CHAC Chair (by virtue of office) Elaine Buege, Mental Health Board Chair (by virtue of office) Daryl Delabbio, County Administrator (by virtue of office) Beverly Drake, ACSET Director (by virtue of office) Steven Heacock, Chair of the Board of Commissioners (by virtue of office) Bonnie Huntley, Community Mental Health Director (by virtue of office) Robert Jamo, FIA Board Chair (by virtue of office) Cathy Raevsky, Administrative Health Officer (by virtue of office) Jack Roedema, Circuit Court - Family Division (by virtue of office) Andy Zylstra, FIA Director (by virtue of office)

Local Development Financing Authority Daryl Delabbio

Officers' Compensation Commission Dave Powers Dale Sommers

Pension Board Daniel Koorndyk

Resource Conservation & Development Committee Jack Horton Ted Vonk

Senior Millage Review Committee Jack Boelema

Daniel Koorndyk

Right Place Program, The Steven Heacock

Motion by Commissioner Buege, supported by Commissioner Koorndyk, that the Committee Appointments by the Chair be concurred. Motion carried by voice vote.

2002 BOARDS AND COMMITTEES

Aeronautics Board	
Katherine Kuhn	John VanLaar
Area Agency on Aging of Region VI Frederick Deane, M.D.	III - Advisory Council Paul McGuire
Area Agency on Aging of Region VI Harold Mast	III - Board of Directors Albert Page
Community Mental Health Services Ralph Honderd Marvin Koets	<u>Board</u> Hugh Hufnagel Antoinette Turner
County Building Authority James Dougan	
Foreign Trade Zone Board (Kent, Ottawa, Muskegon) Nancy Brian	
Friend of the Court Advisory Comm Cynthia Gladyness Judy King	ittee Jack Imhoff
Grand Valley Metropolitan Council Daryl Delabbio Ted Vonk	David Morren
John Ball Zoo Advisory Board Tom TerMaat	Benham Wrigley
<u>Jury Commission</u> Wayne Bentley	
Kent Community Hospital Corporati W. David Boehm Fred Vandenberg	on, Board of Trustees Robert Diamond

Kent County Family & Children's Coordinating CouncilKarl HascallDebra Holmes-GarrisonMarvin McKenzieDiana Sieger

Kent District Library Board Vicki Hoekstra - Region 8 Charles Myers - Region 4

Kent Hospital Finance Authority Daniel Koorndyk

Pension Board Jim Kozak

Craig Peterson

Public Works Board David Morren

Tom Postmus

West Central Michigan Regional Substance Abuse Advisory Council Jim Botts

Motion by Commissioner Buege, supported by Commissioner Koorndyk, that the appointments to Boards and Commissions be approved. Motion carried by voice vote.

MISCELLANEOUS

Happy New Year Chair Heacock wished everyone a Happy New Year.

<u>Thanks</u>

Chair Heacock announced that Navin Kharmai of G.R.T.V., who has been responsible for broadcasting the Board of Commission meetings on cable, is leaving to attend school in Battle Creek. Chair Heacock thanked him for all of his hard work.

Lawyers of the Year

Commissioner Buege announced that Chair Heacock was recognized in the Michigan Practice as one of the Lawyers of the Year.

Representation

Commissioner Mayhue said that it is great having minority representation on the Commission and the knowledge that motions can be made with an ensuing debate.

Commissioner Vaughn agreed that it does make a big difference to have two African-Americans on this board with the same philosophical views not only because they can put a motion on the floor, but also how they are treated and the way that the community is being represented.

Persons of the Year

Clerk Hollinrake mentioned that Chair Heacock was also featured as one of the Persons of the Year in the *Grand Rapids Press*.

ADJOURNMENT

At 8:15 a.m., Commissioner Kuhn moved to adjourn, subject to the call of the Chair, and to Thursday, January 10, 2002 at 8:30 a.m. for an Official Meeting. Seconded by Commissioner Hiddema. Motion carried.

Steven R. Heacock, Chair

Mary Hollinrake, County Clerk